January 1st, 2008

I just wrote a happy new year note to Patrick Yvon, our VP R&D in Netcentrex. Patrick has been ill for a long time, but continued to be present through email and conference calls. His energy and courage have been an inspiration to all. I have seen strong characters who are usually reluctant to accept anyone as a manager tell me how glad they were to work with him, I have seen remote units normally tempted to compete reunite around him, I have seen how his team supports him and in return how his example supports everyone.
Patrick is the manager that we would all like to have, the one who sustains without pushing (I think Bill Clinton used those words also when describing how his mother’s parents and his mother supported him). The orchestra director who leads everyone to do their very best and work in one direction, not because they are forced to, but because they are inspired to. It is amazing to see the energy that is catalyzed when a team works in this way, despite all the challenges.

